Friday, October 2, 2009

Blakesley named UNLV Barrick Distinguished Scholar

Christopher L. Blakesley, the Cobeaga Professor of Law at the Boyd School of Law, was named one of only two 2009 UNLV Barrick Distinguished Scholars. He is the first professor from the law school to receive this award since it was instituted in 1981.

The author of nine books, dozens of book chapters, and nearly 100 scholarly articles, Professor Blakesley is a highly accomplished academic of national and international prominence. He was elected to the American Law Institute and has been invited to teach and present papers abroad at nearly a dozen countries in Europe and Africa.

Steve Johnson, E.L. Wiegand Professor of Law and Associate Dean for Faculty Development and Research, in his letter of nomination wrote, “Professor Blakesley has served on the boards of a number of prestigious international law societies and international legal publications. Chris’s publication record is truly extraordinary.”

According to Robin Toles, Vice President for Research and Graduate Studies, the Barrick awards are designed to recognize faculty members who have established a record of distinguished research, and only professors who have 10 or more years of service in an academic environment are eligible for the Barrick Distinguished Scholar award, which carries a $5,000 stipend.

The awards are funded by an endowment from the late Marjorie Barrick, and winners are selected from recommendations by a committee of former award recipients.

No comments:

Post a Comment